Buddhism never asks for blind faith, it seeks to promote learning and a process of self-discovery.

Three Jewels.

  1. These are the Buddha,
  2. The Dharma, the teaching of the Buddha,
  3. The Sangha, the community who follow the teaching.

Five Precepts
1. I undertake to abstain from killing.
2. I undertake to abstain from taking what is not given.
3. I undertake to avoid misusing the senses.
4. I undertake to abstain from false speech.
5. I undertake to abstain from intoxicants.

The eightfold path is meant as a guideline rather than a strict rule.

Eight Fold Path
1. Right Understanding or View
Seeing the world the way it is, not how we want it to be.
2. Right Intent
The right intent or passion for the journey along the path
3. Right Speech
Resolving never to speak unkindly, or in anger
4. Right Conduct or Action
to take the ethical approach in life, to consider others and the world we
live in, following the five precepts and towards the environment.
5. Right Livelihood
equality of all living beings and respect for all life
6. Right Effort
cultivating an enthusiasm, a positive attitude in a balanced way
7. Right Mindfulness
being aware of the moment, and being focused in that moment, not thinking
of the past or the future, but the now.
8. Right concentration
implies that we select worthy directions for the concentration of the mind

The Four Noble Truths
1. life always incorporates suffering / unsatisfiedness
2. suffering comes from desire (for meeting our expectations or self-fulfilment)
3. if our attachment to desire ends, so too will the suffering
4.  to follow the middle way, the Noble Eightfold path